Sick of growing lime green plants with brown spotted leaves? BUFFER YOUR COCO!!!

B

Busybee817

Ive been growing in coco for a year now so im not an expert, im just sharing what works for me. I watched many clones transfered to coco and do great the first 2 or 3 weeks then go belly up and just die. I watered more, i watered less, more nutrients, less nutrients, dead plant after dead plant. Coco coir is a calcium loving, but calcium deficient medium as it arrives to most of us. They sell pre-buffered coco but ive always had to re buffer it so no matter what coco i have pre-buffered or unbuffered, this is what i do.
Get the Coco wet and seperated. I use tap water for this. My tap water is hard and on average reads about 400 ppm on just the water. I then check the tds of the runoff water and rinse the coco until the water runoff is under 700 ppm ( my water is 400ppm, 700-400 =300ppm of residual salts. That is the maximum i allow. After its been rinsed to lower the residual salt i put it in a plastic tote fill it with the same 400ppm water i rinse with until the water is at least an inch or two higher than the mass of coco. I add 1 tablespoon of calcium nitrate per kilo of dry coco. For example i usually start with a 10 kilo coco brick, so i add 10 tablespoons of calcium nitrate to the water and coco mix. Then i let it sit for 18-24 hours. After the 24 hours i drain the water then rinse the coco until the tds are around 700-900ppm in the runoff water. REMEMBER!!! My rinse water is already 400 ppm so if runoff water tests at 800ppm, subtract the 400 ppm already present from the water and my coco's starting point is 400ppm of residual salts which works for me.
After the rinsing down to 700-900 ppm i let it dry for a day then add 1 tablespoon per kilo of coco of the following: Bloodmeal, Bonemeal, and garden lime.
I also add 1 teaspoon (not tablespoon) per kilo of mychorrhizae bacteria.