I have little flies all over my soil, what should I do

• Thread starter eyezombie
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
E

eyezombie

Hey everyone,

This is my first time growing pot, and it was going well until I noticed some yellow stains on the leaves (picture below). There wasn't any apparent bug problem at first but a few days later, there is a bunch of little flies all over the soil of my plants (video below).

What can I do to try and stop this? I've already tried a few things but nothing has worked so far.

I have little flies all over my soil what should i do
I have little flies all over my soil what should i do 2
LoveGrowingIt

LoveGrowingIt

Supporter
Before I began my growing adventures, I never thought I'd get to know fungus gnats as well as I know them now. What I think I know is they have a 17-day life cycle, starting with eggs, then nematodes, then the flying adults. When they fly, they mate and start the process again. They may be easiest to kill when they're in the larval stage. They live near the surface, so letting the top inch or two of soil dry helps control them. A quick and inexpensive way to kill the larvae is to sprinkle baking soda and spray it. It has a high pH, though. I understand Mosquito Bits work very well, but it's expensive. Because the gnats have a long lifecycle, treatments likely will need to be repeated until no more gnats can be seen.

TreeBee

TreeBee