Auto flower for a beginner

M

MaryJayne_3

I am new to growing. About to start my first plant in about a week or 2. Im starting off with autoflower and was wondering how to go about the soil. Can anyone recommend what soil to use and what nutrients to put in the soil and how much to mix in before planting the seed? TIA

J

jrok96

If I started over I wouldn't use soil. Start straight into general hydro nutrients trio and get some bagged prebuffered coco. Get an ec pen and follow coco4cannabis feed schedule. Get some cal mag and use low ec h2o i.e. distilled , good tap water if available or reverse osmosis . Simple /cheap works great.

AZreefer

AZreefer

An organic grow with a living soil would make it so you just need to water your plant. No nutes

J

jrok96

True true and most amended soils like Happy frog have enough nutrition for around 30 days then u add nutes but I kept over watering😞 coco 4 me is less stress yet more work cause u water with ferts daily or more.

G

gromie440

Promix worm casting peralite and some.build a soil craftblend let it cook the 2 weeks and you have a decent living soil you can add all sorts of suff as you desire

Imzzaudae

Imzzaudae

So are you planning on growing indoors? Do you have a tent or a light setup in a small space?
Outdoors? In the ground or a big pot?

2 great places to spend a little time researching is.

Grow weed easy
and
Coco for cannabis

Myself I am not a believer in 2 or 3 part fertilizer mixes or pre loaded soils.
I use a mix of 50% Vermiculite and 50% Peat Moss
with 40 grams of Dolomite lime per gallon of mix.
and 10 grams of Gypsum pellets per gallon of mix.

This is a type of hydroponic grow in media. A lot like growing in Coco
without some of the issues. And it's a great way to go as you can use any liquid fertilizer you can buy
I use Schultz Orchid Fertilizer 15-5-5.
10 drops per litre of water.
You will need a P.H pen so you can PH your fertilizer solution 6.5